A blog by Shawn Katz

I had a talk with Toronto

Whiplash pangs tonight, stopmotion gags, and this heart’s not getting enough oxygen.

But now I had a long and hard talk with Toronto. Said sorry for most days spent scaling and skirting the surface too clenched to permit the plunge, but now I sat him down, I sat him right down right in front of me, face to face like a friend, I had a talk with Toronto. I went for a walk. Felt up the contours of my corner topography, a heartfelt stroke up and down its hot sides. Hey there red CN, so happy to see me.

I’m not sure I’m ready to return the favour.

One response

  1. metaphoricdream

    I live in Downtown, Toronto, Canada and while reading this post-I think I know what you are trying to convey through your words, the flow of your writing and emotion. I think that Downtown, Toronto at times can be an overwhelming place-there are so many things to absorb-it can be a lot to take in and it is difficult to find your place within this great, bustling City and to meet people whom you have good conversation with and who you can connect with. I think the part of your post where you mention “clenched to permit the plunge” this exemplifies the difficulty that lies within being yourself/true to yourself while finding your refuge and passions-seeing beyond the many interesting things such as the “red CN” that does indeed possess exciting aspects-but-sometimes you need to seek and find your refuge-a haven-something more than beautiful, unique architecture…

    March 8, 2012 at 4:59 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.